24
Dec
09

The Brits Brought It Home…

One last time that is… and by home, I mean my home, NYC.

Friday, December 18th was a night I’ve been waiting for for months! The return of the incomparable Marcus Foster to the States. Last time I raved and ranted about how amazing he was, but.. if it’s even possible, he surpassed that. He was funny, endearing and so talented I just wanted to run up and hug him, seriously! This man is my favorite out of the 3, of course Bobby Long and Sam Bradley being the other two. Something about Marcus makes me feel as if I’m witnessing something monumental each time he strums his guitar and opens his mouth.

marcus foste

But that’s also what is so amazing about Marcus. Although you feel as if you’re witnessing something monumental, you also get the feeling that this man has yet to truly show us everything that he’s capable of. Like he’s on Level 6, a damn good Level 6 to be honest, astoundingly good actually. I’m so curious to see what Level 10 will bring out of him. Like who the hell knew he could play piano like he does? I didn’t find out until he returned and did his first few shows over on the West Coast. Makes me wonder what else he can play. Knowing him, he’s probably one of those guys that can just pick up an instrument in a few hours.

Yes, I know. I look overjoyed don’t I?? LOL. I dunno what it is about Marcus, that man makes everyone happy as all hell. I can’t even explain it!

Enough about that, back to the show. Like I said, he brought out his piano skills for “Demons”, which was stunning BTW, and we begged and pleaded for another song, which he obliged us with “WayWayWay” on the keys as well. Throwing in Merry Christmas wishes and “It’s my birthday” plugs of his own, it was one of the most entertaining and lively songs of the night!  He of course made his way through crowd faves such as “I Don’t Mind” and “Tumble Down”, which was one of the most requested of the night – and also one of my top songs of 2009. 🙂 But, I was completely unprepared for the magic of a song simply titled “Bus Song”, because he wrote it on a Greyhound bus. The melody was gorgeous, the lyrics captivating and the way he sang it brought tears to my eyes. No joke, actual tears. I had said in the weeks before the show that he might make me cry and that was the song that did it. I got all misty because it was just soooooo beautiful. It’s like every song he writes is more heartbreakingly beautiful than the last. He’s a brilliant songwriter and musician, dare I say the best I’ve come across in a while.

I remember after the show was over, standing outside with him and his friends, they were casually chatting, as was I with my friends, and I glanced over at him – he looked so happy and carefree. Like a man who was finally getting everything they had ever wanted. He’s so on his way, and I couldn’t be prouder to have witnessed that moment.

Speaking of a man getting everything they ever wanted… Bobby Long was in town the next night to cast his spell on NYC. Apparently part of his spell also included a full blown blizzard, which he admitted he was happy about because he loves snow! LOL.

bobbylong

I must say, without a doubt, this was the best Bobby Long show I’ve ever seen to date. I’ve talked to a few people at the show and they all agreed that he seemed to play each song so deliberately, and with so much emotion and feeling that it was like I was hearing them for the 1st time. And being that this was my 11th show, that’s saying a lot. He launched into what I would say is the most beautiful version of “Two Tone Lover” I had ever heard in my life. I was completely captivated by him in that moment, and so was the audience, he silenced the room with the beauty of his playing and singing. It was a moment I won’t ever forget.

bobbylong2

Another thing that Bobby does exceptionally well is tell stories. Insanely funny stories to be exact. One about how a naked woman threw themselves at him and how it wasn’t a joyful experience for him at all. Also, another story about why he couldn’t unbutton his top button because it’s his “chastity button”. Both tales had the crowd erupting into raucous laughter. Even Bobby couldn’t maintain his composure and let out a few chuckles. Throughout this tour, I’ve seen Bobby become more at ease on stage and the elaborateness of his stories now is a telltale sign of just how comfortable he’s gotten.

Although they won’t be back for a while – Bobby in March of 2010 and Marcus in Late June/Early July, they have left us with a plethora of music to tide us over. Expect a full length studio album from Bobby and some new compositions from Marcus as well. Also, a full length album from Sam! 2010 is going to bring so much more for this talented group of Brits, I just can’t wait to see what it is! 🙂

For more information on Bobby, Marcus and Sam, visit:

http://www.myspace.com/musicbobbylong
http://www.twitter.com/bobbylongnews

http://www.sambradley.com
http://www.myspace.com/sambradley
http://www.twitter.com/samueltwitt1

http://www.myspace.com/marcusfoster
http://www.twitter.com/marcusfoster1

For full photosets, visit http://www.picasaweb.google.com/tynie626

3 Responses to “The Brits Brought It Home…”


  1. 1 niki1221
    December 27, 2009 at 2:46 am

    Thanks for the great blog about the guys! I haven’t had the chance to see Marcus yet. And now I’m dying too! Bobby and his stories, LOL! I don’t even care if they’re true the man has skills! Just from the vids I’ve seen from the Mercury shows they looked awesome, you’re so lucky you got to see them both!

  2. 2 tynie626
    December 27, 2009 at 2:57 am

    Niki, Marcus is my favorite out of the 3, i had no idea he would be that amazing until i witnessed it live. I cannot say it enough, you will definitely appreciate him more when you see him perform live!! Bobby is always great live. I’ve seen him 11 times now and he still manages to come up with something new and fresh each time. His voice is maturing and getting more powerful. He really has control over it now and it’s impressive to see how far he’s come!! I hope you get to see the boys soon!!


Leave a Reply

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

What I’m Listening To:


