08
Jan
10

John Mayer’s Digital Cleanse: The Aftermath

So, today is the 1st day I’ve been off John Mayer’s digital cleanse, since 9am EST precisely. It really wasn’t as hard or dire as i imagined it would be before I took part in it. The first day was a challenge not to go on my phone and check my Facebook and Twitter, as I’ve been so accustomed to. But luckily I was at a friends house, and it helped tremendously. We talked, laughed, and played video games for most of the day. I must tell ya… Silent Hill really helps the time fly by. Day 1 was over before I even noticed.

Day 2 was more of the same. It was a Saturday, and I spent most of it playing old video games on my PS2… namely Shadow of the Colossus and Grand Theft Auto San Andreas. Such time sucks. I rode my horse around aimlessly for a few hours,  before I actually beat the next to last colossus. In San Andreas, I entered all the cheat codes I could. Flew around exploring with my jetpack, crashed a stuntplane a few times, and tried in vain to win the motorcross. Good mindless times.

Day 3 was a Sunday. I actually spent it experimenting with some recipes in the kitchen. Nothing amazing, but edible. I noticed by this day that I rarely went on the computer for anything besides checking and responding to email. I had only 1 text message so the temptation wasn’t that high either there. I only spoke on the phone once to my friend. She’s not a phone person either so it was mostly short and sweet. Also, my daily written journals took a backseat. I just don’t enjoy actually writing with pen and paper anymore. I did manage to get a cramp in my thumb muscle from only 2 pages of writing. Goes to show how little I actually write.

Day 4 was a Monday, and that meant my guitar was finally arriving! I spent most of the day watching tv. Was too excited to do much of anything else. When it finally got here, I ripped off the packaging like a starving person. Ran to my computer and Googled beginner guitar chords and got straight to business. I think I played 2 hours on the 1st day of having it. My fingertips were painful, but it was so enjoyable, I managed to push through another 30 minutes after the initial pain had faded to a dull ache. After I couldn’t physically play anymore, I grabbed one of the books my friend lent me and read for a bit. I noticed I was beat at about 12am. Doing this cleanse, my bedtimes got earlier and my up times got earlier too. I think one morning I rose at 6am and job hunted for 3 hours until it was time to take out the dog. Productivity… YES!

Day 5, a Tuesday. More guitar. Mostly fumbling around with making sure the strings were pressed down all the way. More pain of course, and now a weird numbness to accompany it. So I settled on playing more video games and reading. Standard.

Day 6, Wednesday. I got bored of the video games I had so I took myself to Gamestop, an hour bus ride 1 way, to buy more. Used games of course. I’m all about bang for my buck. I came home with: Resident Evil 4, Hitman and God of War II. By far, God of War II was the best game I’ve ever played. So entertaining, glorious graphics, excellent controls. That blew a few hours after I got back home. Then early to bed as usual.

Day 7, Thursday. Almost done. But surprisingly fine. I wasn’t itching to jump back on Twitter or Facebook with a vengeance. Most of my day was very low key. Guitar, TV, Video Games. I ended the night watching Jersey Shore again.. Gotta love “The Situation” LOL.

Which brings us to present day. I woke about 7am. 2 hours to go before I could officially end the cleanse. And that is when the urge hit me. I guess because it was so imminent, I was raring to see what was happening online. 9am hit and I immediately went on MySpace to see if my message was responded to. Nothing. Then on Facebook. Ahhh my friends missed me, what an awesome welcome back! I came back to multiple wall posts, a picture post, and numerous inboxes. I replied to the urgent ones and sent a few of my own, just catching up. Then to Twitter… Very quiet… Then I realized I’m usually not on here until 2 hours later, so of course it’s quiet. 7 @ replies. Most cursing John Mayer for taking me away from them. Hilarious!! I missed my friends there immensely.

The daunting task now is getting back up to speed. I remember thinking if i was logged off for a day, or even a few hours I would be so behind! Now 7 days have passed, I feel a bit disoriented… and strangely enough, I don’t feel the overwhelming pull to be online all waking hours of the day. I enjoyed this time off, much more than one would expect. I do intend on keeping up with my book reading, guitar practicing, and even getting in some of that awesome PS2 action. Not to mention I’m still in dire need of a job ASAP. Unemployment runs out in about a month and a half. I’m trying like hell to avoid returning to retail, but it sadly looks like I will be forced to join those ranks again soon. Sad but true, my bills need to be paid, and I gotta do what I gotta do, no matter how morale draining it may be. Sorry to anyone who may love retail, it’s just not my ideal job situation.

So yea, I guess that’s all in a nutshell. The Digital Cleanse was a roaring success. Thanks John, for giving me the push to get back to what’s most important. Not saying everyone I talk to on social networking isn’t important… just saying that there is more to living life than being “connected” all the time. I think everyone should give it a try if you can!

And by the way, if you were wondering… my guitar’s name is Violet.

4 Responses to “John Mayer’s Digital Cleanse: The Aftermath”


  1. 1 Kat
    January 8, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    GREAT guitar name! She and “Natalie” will have to meet one day. So glad to have you back love. 🙂

  2. 2 tynie626
    January 8, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    Thanks Kat!! Glad you like the name! I just had a feeling like it should be Violet and hence the name was born! I can’t wait til I can actually play so we can jam!! Ha!!! Thanks for the warm welcome back. Good to be amongst friends again.

  3. January 11, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    My guitar’s name is Nancy. I don’t know why either but like you I felt her name should be Nancy. 🙂

    Welcome back deary!! I’ve missed you. Wonder how many times I can say that without ever tiring out? Let’s not find out, okay. LOL!

    You did a great job with the digital cleanse. I was going to point out that you sort of cheated. You checked email and googled. Was not the purpose to stay off the internet? Or did I read the terms and policy all wrong? Hahah. No, I was not pointing out any sort of failures, okay?! OMG! PLEASE DON’T KILL ME! I lurveeee youuuu! *hugs*

    But really on a serious note, I’m proud of you! I would never have made it that far. Maybe day 0.5 is as far as I can go. It’s a necessity for me to stay “connected” since it’s the only way to stay connected with my friends and family on the other side of the world. =P


Leave a Reply

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

What I’m Listening To:


