Archive for December 25th, 2009

25
Dec
09

The Top 10 Live Performances of 2009

So, it’s finally Christmas, and what better gift that my picks for the top shows I’ve seen this year. I’ve been to quite a lot of shows considering I’ve been out of work and I figured what better what to stay stress-free than to go to live shows. Music is a passion of mine, and even though I can’t play or sing, I thoroughly enjoy a great show. BTW, I’m working on the playing thing – just got an acoustic guitar thanks to my lovely brother. THANKS DEV!! Without further ado….

Performances: Any artist/band single song performance during 1 song. Artist/band can be listed several times.

10. Joshua Radin – “No Envy No Fear” at Webster Hall, NYC
When I went to see Joshua Radin, I wasn’t expecting him to really belt out a tune like this since he’s known for his “whisper-rock”, but he really impressed. Such an impressive set of pipes on this guy.

9. Sam Bradley – “Fucking Lights” at Webster Hall, NYC
I had previously seen Sam live at Joe’s Pub, but it was without a band. This time he had his band with him and put on the most energetic, rambunctious and lively performances I’ve ever seen him do. So much fun! *NOTE*- Video clip is not from NYC, sorry! But the song is always awesome wherever he performs it, so enjoy!

8. Bobby Long – “Two Tone Lover” at Mercury Lounge, NYC [On Tour Soon Overseas]
I admit, this song was ok for me, not my favorite and not terrible by any means, but when he sang this the other night, he really breathed new life into it. I’ve heard a lot of versions of this song, and this was hands down, the best one he’s ever done.

7. Marcus Foster – “Bus Song” at Mercury Lounge, NYC [On Tour Soon Overseas]
I think I briefly watched Marcus sing this song via YouTube videos a few times, but it hadn’t really clicked with me until I heard him sing it live. The video really doesn’t do it justice. Such a gorgeous song!

6. Mayer Hawthorne – “Green Eyed Love” at Brooklyn Bowl, BK,NY [Performing with John Mayer Trio in Las Vegas, NV- New Years Eve]
Now, when I first met Mayer Hawthorne, bka DJ Haircut, he was a DJ and Producer. I had no idea the man could sing and play a plethora of instruments that would put people to shame. He made an incredible album in 2009, full of the most soulful tracks I’ve heard this year, and embarked on a full blown tour in support. I caught him perform in Brooklyn, and I was awed that this was the same guy I met so long ago in Los Angeles. He became a superstar overnight. Such stage presence and charisma. Truly great performer. You should see him when you have the chance. And this song in particular had the ladies eating out of his hand. Believe me, it’s a lot more sexy in person. LOL *NOTE* Video clip is not from NYC, but please enjoy!

5. Marcus Foster – “Kiss is a Knife” at  Arlene’s Grocery, NYC [On Tour Soon Overseas]
Now, this was the 1st time Marcus was in NYC touring, and when he whipped out this song, I knew I’d be in for a treat. Everyone enjoys when he performs this song! Always a good time, and he throws his whole self into it. You’ll see what I mean.

4. Kings of Leon – “Trani” at Nassau Coliseum, NY
So I trekked all the way to Long Island just so I could see these guys play and I was not disappointed. I remembered this song in particular being the one that blew me away that night. Caleb has an incredible voice on him, I was just awed. Not much else to say about it.. Just watch!

3. John Mayer – “Edge of Desire” at Music Hall of Williamsburg, BK,NY [Currently On Tour]
When I first heard John’s newest album “Battle Studies” I knew that this would end up being my favorite on the album. Never did I expect him to play it live, and at a random free show brought to you by Myspace either! I don’t think he even planned it to be honest, the mood just hit him and he decided to bring it out of hiding.. When he released this as an acoustic solo weeks later at a thank you to fans, he did it on an acoustic guitar. I’m not sure if we will ever get this version again, so enjoy. (Sorry about the sound, and whoever was singing… everyone was singing at that point, and it was impossible not to record it.. 🙂

2. Bobby Long – “Penance Fire Blues/ In My Time of Dyin’/Hoochie Coochie Man” at The Bitter End, NYC [On Tour Soon in Overseas]
I had heard tales of Bobby singing these songs in a medley like this in other cities across the country, but when he did it live, it was a sight to see. Grown women were yelping and hooting for him like they didn’t have boyfriends and husbands at home! Bobby could have told every woman in that place to strip naked and give him $20 and they gladly would. That’s the kind of control  he had over the audience when he sang these songs. Bobby does the blues exceptionally well, and this particular performance cemented that fact into my brain forever.

1. MUTEMATH – “Burden” at Nokia Theater, NYC
Before this I had only seen MUTEMATH one time and just from that one show alone, it cemented them as my favorite band of all time. Their music is phenomenal, but their live show…. completely otherworldly. I’ve never seen a live show quite like this and I highly doubt anyone would be able to top it. Point blank period. You see Darren on drums in the back.. Favorite drummer ever. And FML, Paul is playing a goddamned keytar! When’s the last time you’ve seen one of those onstage?? If I could relive one show, it would be this show. EPIC! I urge everyone to go see them on tour when they go back out again, I really cannot stress this enough. Once again, the video/sound here does not do it justice, but please believe by the time this song was playing, I was a hot sweaty mess and completely spent from jumping around so much.

So folks, that’s all… It’s been an great year for live shows for me, and these people have cranked out some of the best performances this year. Of course, I’m just one opinion out of many, but before you form your own opinion, you should check them out live.




December 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

What I’m Listening To: